Dirt Wheels HomeDirt Wheels Latest NewsDirt Wheels, Subscribe & Save Only $19.99 for 12 issues.MachinesDirt Wheels ATV, UTV Tests & Product ReviewsDirt Wheels Featured StoriesDirt Wheels Technical & How-TosDirt Wheels Where to RideDirt Wheels Racing News & FeaturesDirt Wheels Photos & Videos GalleryDirt Wheels Have a question? Ask the Editors
Bookmark and share

Dustin Wimmer dominates overall for the ITP/Moose Racing ATVA MX Series at Unadilla


New Berlin, IL
— Jeremy Lawson won Sunday's top qualifier award for turning the fastest lap time with a 2:02.355. The gate was packed for the first Pro moto and Joe Byrd pulled the holeshot over MSR Yoshimura Suzuki's Dustin Wimmer, Jeremy Lawson and Patrick Brown and Josh Creamer rounding out the top five. Then Wimmer passed Byrd after a couple laps, pulling up beside him multiple times before making the pass on lap four. Lawson and Byrd maintained second and third while Wimmer pulled a slight lead over the front runners. The battle ensued for Brown and Creamer for the fourth spot, until Creamer's ATV started smoking and he began to fall back. The three-time Canadian champion Jasmin Plante brought his Yamaha to the fifth place position. Meanwhile, Lawson and Byrd battled for second as Wimmer had a comfortable 7-second lead by the finish. Byrd held second over Lawson, who was 3/10 of a second behind, with Brown over Plante in top five.


Byrd pulled another holeshot in Moto 2, over Wimmer, Lawson, Chris Bithell and Plante for the top five. By the end of lap one, Wimmer had passed Byrd for the lead before the skyshot jump, and Wimmer checked out from Byrd and Lawson. No real changes came from the top three, though Brown was trying to get passed Plante on lap five of the 11-lap race. Brown ended up going down hard when he tried to maneuver passed Plante, and re-fired his machine to finish 13th. With Wimmer out front, Byrd and Lawson finished top three, with the current Canadian MX champ Richard Pelchat in fifth.


The overall went to Dustin Wimmer, followed by Joe Byrd in second, Jeremy Lawson in third, with Jasmin Plante and Josh Creamer inside the top five overall.

The ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV National Championship presented by Parts Unlimited continues with the final round of the series at the ATV Dirt Days at Loretta Lynn's Ranch on August 11-12 in Hurricane Mills, TN. Log on to ATVmotocross.com for live updates from the Ranch!

Harv Whipple contributed to this report.

Photos by Shane Hartman

Topic: News

  •  Chaney Wins XC1 Modified SxS Class at John Penton GNCC
  • Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross Championship Results - Briarcliff MX

- Subscribe
- Customer Service
- Advertise
- Contact
- Back Issues


WARNING: Much of the action de­pict­­ed in this magazine is potentially dan­gerous. Virtually all of the riders seen in our photos are experienced ex­­perts or professionals. Do not at­tempt to duplicate any stunts that are be­­yond your own capabilities. Always wear the appropriate safety gear.
Copyright 2008 Hi-Torque Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.
Console Login