Byrd Fights Back at Round Two of the ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited at Glen Helen

San Bernardino, CA  – March 25, 2007 – With a strong 1-1 double moto sweep, defending ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV National Champion Joe Byrd returned to his winning ways at round two of the 2007 series today at Glen Helen Raceway in California. Byrd used his Honda to top fellow red rider John Natalie and Yoshimura Suzuki’s Doug Gust.

           The Glen Helen event featured perfect weather and track conditions, with sunny skies and temperatures in the high 70s. California native Kory Ellis logged the fastest practice lap times on his Suzuki, but with four riders within one second on times, the fans braced themselves for a big pro showdown once the motos began.

           Byrd snagged the first moto Holeshot, with Ellis and Jeremy Lawson right behind. Natalie steadily made his way through the pack to move into second, and Ellis held on for a third-place podium finish in the moto.

           Byrd nailed the Holeshot again in moto two over Natalie and Keith Little, and this time he would face a challenge as Chad Wienen charged from a fifth-place start into the lead. Mechanical troubles would slow him just two laps later, putting Byrd out front again. Gust outdueled Natalie to take the runner-up spot, with “The Ironman” holding on for third.

           The ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV National Championship presented by Parts Unlimited continues next weekend with the ATV Wrangler in Oak Hill, Texas.

Overall Results:

ITP/Moose AMA Pro ATV Championship

Round Two: Glen Helen Raceway, San Bernardino, CA

Joe Byrd (Hon)
John Natalie (Hon)
Doug Gust (Suz)

Manufacturer cup Standings
1. Honda

2. Suzuki

3. Yamaha

4. Kawasaki

About the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series

Presented by Parts Unlimited:

Sanctioned by the AMA and ATVA, the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series is hosted by many of America’s premier motocross facilities.  The 12-round series approaches its 21st season with the Pro class newly under the wing of AMA Pro Racing.  The 2006 series hosted over 8,000 entrants, making it America’s largest, as well as its longest running, ATV National Motocross series.  Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited.  Premiere and Feature sponsors include ATV Sport, Moto Tees, Scott USA, Maxxis Tires, Elka Suspension and H-Bomb Films/Division Four.  Associate sponsors include Weekend Warrior Trailers, Denton Racing, and Hinson Racing.  Media partners include ATV Insider, ATV Rider and

About AMA Racing

AMA Racing is the competition arm of the American Motorcyclist Association and is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its professional properties include the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF, the AMA Superbike Championship presented by Parts Unlimited, the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship, the AMA Supermoto Championship and the AMA Pro ATV Championship. In amateur and pro-am competition, AMA Racing sanctions over 4000 events in 24 different disciplines and supports over 110 thousand active
members. For more information about professional racing, visit Accredited media outlets can also access an on line Press Room at For amateur racing information visit

About the ATVA:

The ATV Association (“ATVA”) is the official sanctioning body of the amateur divisions of the ATVA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited.  The 9,000 member ATVA is the sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (“AMA”). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth at the rate of 25% in the past two years alone, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. Each round attracts 600-700 racers who compete for bragging rights to one of 31 amateur national titles. For more information about ATVA, visit

About the ATVPG:

The ATVPG is comprised of the 12 individual promoters that host the AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championships, presented by Parts Unlimited. The goal of the ATVPG is to raise awareness of ATV motocross through the production of professional and amateur championship racing events.  For more information on the ATVPG and the ATV National events they produce, go to

Comments are closed.