— The 2018 Dakar Rally included over 5,000 miles of South America’s brutal terrain, divided into 14 stages that took two weeks to complete. At the conclusion it was Can-Am’s X3 Turbo taking the overall win in the UTV class. Reinaldo Varela and Gustavo Gugelmin of Brazil were the pilots of the X3.

(From left) Gustavo Gugelmin and, driver of record, Reinaldo Varela won the SxS category in their South Racing Can-Am Maverick X3 at the 2018 Dakar Rally in South America.

The tandem of Leonel Larrauri and Fernando Imperatrice drove their South Racing Can-Am Maverick X3 to a stage 14 victory at the 2018 Dakar Rally.

“To have the Can-Am Maverick X3 win the side-by-side class in its first ever attempt in Dakar, the world’s most difficult race, is outstanding,” said Olivier Camus, Director of Global Product Strategy – Can-Am. “With the victory, Scott Abraham and his entire crew at South Racing / Can-Am, and Reinaldo Varela outperformed our expectations. Their expertise and dedication proved invaluable in developing a package that could help the Maverick X3 outlast the competition, as well as the most challenging terrain and conditions imaginable. This success also demonstrates that the Maverick X3 is the most capable and reliable platform for conquering brutal terrain.”

The Varela-Gugelmin crew, which earned second in the 14th and final stage, won a total of five stages on its way to completing the Dakar Rally with a time of 72:44.06, which was around 57 minutes ahead of its closest competitor. Another South Racing Can-Am crew, composed of Argentines Leonel Larrauri and Fernando Imperatrice, won the final stage and finished the race in sixth place.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.