Hetrick and Wienen Set to Battle at Loretta Lynn for Championship


This weekend the 33rd Annual ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, season finale takes place in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee at the historic Loretta Lynn Ranch. With only one round remaining this year, Rockford Fosgate/Ti-Lube/Honda’s Joel Hetrick remains in the championship points lead. This Saturday, August 11 Hetrick will look to defend his National Championship and become a back-to-back ATVMX Champion.

One person who is hoping to have luck on his side this weekend is Wienen Motorsports/Yamaha/Maxxis’ Chad Wienen. After finishing in the third place position at the previous round, Wienen is now 10 points behind Hetrick in the championship points battle. As they head into this weekend’s race, Wienen will be looking to earn the overall win in hopes of earning the 2018 National Championship.

Chad Wienen and Joel Hetrick are set to battle for the 2018 National Championship this Saturday.



TBrown84 Training/CST Tires’ Thomas Brown earned his first overall win of the season at the previous round in Michigan, and he will be looking to earn his second overall win this Saturday to finish off the season on a high note.

Another rider looking to end the year right is Baldwin/Jeff Rastrelli Land Grading/Ford Brothers Racing Honda’s Jeffrey Rastrelli. After starting the season off strong with three top-three finishes, Rastrelli was a favorite to steal an overall win from Hetrick and Wienen. However, Rastrelli has been unable to clinch an overall win thus far in the season but he is aiming to change that this Saturday.

Unfortunately, the previous round did not go well for GennUSA Racing/CST Tires/Corrosion Specialties’ Nick Gennusa where he finished 10th overall. Gennusa has been having a consistent season finishing in the top five at most of the events, and after his performance at the previous round Gennusa will be looking to make his way to the front of the pack for the last race of 2018.

Thomas Brown earned his first win at RedBud MX, and is looking to earn his second win of the season this weekend.

JH Racing/Walsh Race Craft/SSi Decal’s Zachary Kaczmarzyk is currently sixth in the points standings heading into the last round. Kaczmarzyk has regularly found himself inside the top 10 this year, and he is hoping to continue that streak with an outstanding performance in Tennessee on Saturday.

Sitting seventh and eighth are GBC Motorsports/Hetrick Racing/Walsh Race Craft/Solo Pilot’s Westley Wolfe and Hinson/Walsh Race Craft/Honda’s Parker Wewerka. Both Wolfe and Wewerka have had an up-and-down season with some great performances and finishing inside the top 10, to finishing outside the top 10 and not even starting some of the motos. Both of these racers will be aiming for a positive finish to end the year on, and battle for a top five position.

Parker Wewerka earned fifth overall at the previous round, which is his best finish of the season.



Coming into the last round Rockford Fosgate/Ti-Lube/Honda’s Haedyn Mickelson and Kyler Lenz Motorsports Samuel Rowe are separated by one point. Mickelson is also looking ahead to battling on Sunday for the Pro-Am Championship as he sits six points behind Brandon Hoag. Rowe had a rough start to the season, but during the second half Rowe has seemed to push harder. Look for these two to be battling it out at the last round.

Friday, August 10 the 88 Live to Ride will be having their annual Spaghetti dinner and Fundraising Auction in the arena. They have already been announcing the donations they have received and plenty more will be brought to them at the event, please stop by and show your support.

Saturday’s race schedule is as follows: practice at 10 a.m. followed by a timed qualifying session at 11:30 a.m. Pro motos are at 2 and 4 p.m. with an autograph session taking place at 4:30 p.m.

Haedyn Mickelson is battling for the Pro-Am Championship, he currently sits six points behind the leader.

Saturday spectator passes run $20 for adults and $10 for children (6-11), with kids five and under getting in for free. Each pass includes pro pit access and pro autographs at no additional charge. A highlight show featuring the event will air on MAVTV this fall.

Amateur racing will take place throughout the weekend alongside the AMA Pro class, and local riders are invited and encouraged to compete in the event, as ATVMX offers classes for riders of all skill and experience levels. The amateur race entry fee is only $50 and riders can sign up at the event. To learn more about ATVMX racing, please refer to the ATVMX101 webpage.

The rain fell during moto two at RedBud, making some of the most treacherous conditions of the season.



Previous Round Results and Points Standings

RedBud ATVMX National
Buchanan, Michigan
Round 9 of 10
Saturday, July 21

2018 AMA Pro Class Event Results:

  1. Thomas Brown (3-1)
  2. Joel Hetrick (2-2)
  3. Chad Wienen (1-4)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (4-3)
  5. Parker Wewerka (5-6)
  6. Sam Rowe (6-7)
  7. Westley Wolfe (13-5)
  8. Haedyn Mickelson (10-8)
  9. Zachary Kaczmarzyk (8-10)
  10. Nick Gennusa (7-12)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (351)
  2. Chad Wienen (341)
  3. Thomas Brown (282)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (271)
  5. Nick Gennusa (230)
  6. Zachary Kaczmarzyk (194)
  7. Westley Wolfe (184)
  8. Parker Wewerka (164)
  9. Haedyn Mickelson (163)
  10. Sam Rowe (162)

SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (13)
  2. Jeffrey Rastrelli (5)
  3. Chad Wienen (4)
  4. Sam Rowe (1)

ATVriders.com Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (6)
  2. Chad Wienen (2)

For more information on the 2018 ATV Motocross National Championship, visit the series official website at www.atvmotocross.com or call (304) 284-0101. Join the conversation on the series social media channels, along with receiving the most up-to-date news and exclusive content.

To subscribe to Dirt Wheels Magazine in print or digital form click here https://hi-torque.com/product/dirt-wheels.  

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.