By Matthew McNulty

The hallowed grounds of Daytona International Speedway were once again home to this year’s Daytona Vintage Supercross and ATVSX, part of the AMA ATV MX National Championship. Daytona’s ATVSX course was home to the best riders in the world, taking on the ruts and dirt of the infield. Joel Hetrick ultimately took home the win for a third straight year in the Pro ATV class. With the course set and warmed up from the day’s earlier moto action, riders did their best to fill in ruts at the start gate, trying to squeeze as much traction out for the run into the first turn.

The Daytona Track offered plenty of jumps and passing choices for a thrilling race – Photo by Stephen Tripp
Hetrick shot out into the lead in front of a pack of Yamaha YFZ450R’s and never looked back and lead from this moment all the way to the finish. – Photo by Stephen Tripp
Chad Wienen had a strong start to the race, but had an unfortunate retirement before the end of lap 10. – Photo by Stephen Tripp

Hetrick took his lead right into the first corner, leaping in front of the pack, and managed to continually widen it as the race went on. Bryce Ford tried his best to keep Hetrick’s gap from continually growing, but by the tenth lap Hetrick had begun to lap the field and continue to build his lead. Rounding out third place on the all Yamaha podium was Brandon Hoag, who had a tough fought battle with Nick Gennusa for the position, finally passing him on lap 16 holding on until the finish. Chad Wienen unfortunately retired from the race for an apparent medical issue on the tenth lap, after having a solid start to fight for a podium position in the opening laps.

Bryce Ford finished in second place after a heroic effort in chasing down Joel Hetrick. – Photo by Stephen Tripp
Nick Gennusa’s efforts to hold on to the final podium spot provided plenty of close racing action, but ultimately would fall to Brandon Hoag. – Photo by Stephen Tripp

In the ATV Pro Sport class, Joey Norris, and Jayden Londerville both made a heroic sprint through the field following a first corner incident at the race start, with Norris ultimately edging out Londerville for the first-place finish. Cody Houghton held the lead for the bulk of the race, but ultimately lost his lead on lap 16 to Norris on lap 16 before seeing his race fall apart on the final lap, ultimately falling to 11th. Heath Hannah rounded out the podium in the class, putting on a strong performance on his way to a 3rd place finish. This Pro Sport class race was defined by the turn one incident. Putting on an absolute clinic on passing, the podium finishers worked their way through the entire pack.

Joel Hetrick took home first in the Pro ATV class with a dominating performance, putting several lapped racers between himself and the rest of the pack by the end. – Photo by Stephen Tripp
Brandon Hoag would scramble his way into third place on lap 16 and hold out there for the remainder of the race. – Photo by Stephen Tripp
Standing in the winner’s circle at Daytona; one of motorsport’s biggest stages, the top three from the Pro ATV class. First Place: Joel Hetrick, Second Place: Bryce Ford, Third Place: Brandon Hoag. Maybe they should rename it “Yamaha Victory Lane”. – Photo by Stephen Tripp
What good is winning if it doesn’t come with a champagne spray? – Photo by Stephen Tripp

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.