Thomas Brown Looks for Second Consecutive Win in Indiana


The 2019 ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX), an AMA National Championship, heads to Ironman Raceway this weekend for round two of the amateur ATVMX National Championship, along with round three for the AMA Pro ATV athletes hitting the track on Saturday afternoon.

The previous round in Kemp, Texas saw extremely muddy conditions along with several race delays due to lightning in the area, but it was  84 Training/CST Tires’ Thomas Brown who emerged victorious after finishing 2-1 on the day. This weekend as the series heads North, Brown is hoping to put his machine back in the center of the box while earning valuable points in the Championship hunt.

Thomas Brown is hopeful that he will earn his second consecutive overall win of the season at Ironman this Saturday.
Thomas Brown is hopeful that he will earn his second consecutive overall win of the season at Ironman this Saturday.


Phoenix Honda Racing’s Joel Hetrick holds onto the points lead by three as he heads to Indiana. Hetrick took the overall win at round one and looked like he was going to earn his second-straight win at round two before he was forced to back off the throttle during the second moto due to a mechanical issue. Hetrick held on for a fourth-place finish, earning second overall on the day behind Brown. For the past three years, Hetrick has earned the overall win at Ironman, and after losing out on the overall win at the previous round he is looking to take back that center spot on the podium this Saturday.

Currently sitting third in the Championship Standings is Wienen Motorsports/Yamaha/ Maxxis’ Chad Wienen. With the first two rounds complete, Wienen has earned third overall and is still looking to earn a moto win in 2019. Even though Wienen has yet to earn an overall win at Ironman, he is aiming to make that change this weekend.

Jeffrey Rastrelli is looking to battle for another overall podium finish after missing it by one spot at the last round.
Jeffrey Rastrelli is looking to battle for another overall podium finish after missing it by one spot at the last round.


Jeff Rastrelli Land Grading/Baldwin’s Jeffrey Rastrelli heads into round three currently sitting fourth overall in the points standings. Rastrelli started the season out on the overall podium, and unfortunately missed the podium by one spot at the last race. Rastrelli is hoping to turn that around this weekend, and battle for another overall podium finish of the season.

Finishing fifth overall in Texas was Ryland Johnson Racing/GBC Motorsports/Ye Olde Cycle Barn’s Westley Wolfe. During the first moto in Texas Wolfe found himself running at the front of the pack in fourth, earning his best finish thus far in the season.

Alan Myers has been the top AMA Pro rookie at the past two events finish sixth overall at both.


Nine6Nine/Barker’s Exhaust/Walsh Race Craft’s Alan Myers is currently in his rookie season of the AMA Pro class. Myers has finished sixth overall at the first two rounds and will be aiming to earn that top five overall finish this Saturday. Phoenix Honda Racing’s Haedyn Mickelson sits seventh in the standings, and after a rough start to the season, he is looking ahead to the rest of the season and improving his standings.

Ford Brothers Racing/Fly/Maxxis/Impact Solutions’ Cody Ford is another AMA Pro class rookie, who finished eighth overall at the previous round. Ford is hoping to put together two great motos in Indiana and improve his overall standings. JH Racing/Lobo Transport/Root River Racing’s Sam Rowe earned the holeshot during one of the motos last year at Ironman Raceway, but suffered a mechanical issue and was unable to start the second moto. This year Rowe will be looking to also put together two moto finishes and move ahead in the points standings as he is currently tied with Ford.

Westley Wolfe rounded out the top five overall with a 4-6 moto score and is looking to continue his top five battles this weekend.

Corrosion Specialties/Londerville Steel/Maxxis Tires’ Brandon Hoag earned the Pro-Am National Championship last season and made the move to Pro as the 2019 season got underway. Hoag sits ninth in points, and after earning 10th overall at round two he is ready to put his head down and push for a better overall finish. Koster Racing/JH Racing/Walsh/Motowoz/Hoosier’s Jaron Cochran is another newcomer to the Pro class after finishing third in Production A and fourth in Open Pro Sport. Cochran is looking to break into the top 10 this weekend.

Root River Racing/FTR/Hoosier’s Dylan Tremellen came through 12th overall in Texas, followed by GennUSA Racing/CST Tires/Corrosion Specialties’ Nicholas Gennusa in 13th overall. Both riders are considered veterans of the AMA Pro class, but neither could get their machines to maneuver through the muddy conditions that presented themselves at the previous round. However, on Saturday Tremellen and Gennusa are eager to regroup and battle up front where they know they can.

Koster Racing/Qualified Racing Engines/Walsh Racecraft’s Wes Lewis and Baldwin Motorsports’ Ronnie Higgerson would finish 14th and 15th overall after not starting the second moto. Lewis’s machine’s wiring took a hit and he was unable to finish either moto, while Higgerson would find himself unable to finish moto one after taking in mud and water. Lewis and Higgerson are looking to rebound this weekend at Ironman.

Thomas Brown (center), Joel Hetrick (left) and Chad Wienen (right) rounded out the top three overall at the Underground ATVMX National.


Previous Round Results and Points Standings

Underground ATVMX National
Kemp, Texas
Round 2 of 10
Saturday, April 6

2019 AMA Pro Class Event Results:

  1. Thomas Brown (2-1)
  2. Joel Hetrick (1-4)
  3. Chad Wienen (3-2)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (5-3)
  5. Westley Wolfe (4-6)
  6. Alan Myers (6-5)
  7. Haedyn Mickelson (9-7)
  8. Cody Ford (7-10)
  9. Samuel Rowe (12-8)
  10. Brandon Hoag (8-13)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (68)
  2. Thomas Brown (65)
  3. Chad Wienen (62)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (58)
  5. Westley Wolfe (47)
  6. Alan Myers (46)
  7. Haedyn Mickelson (36)
  8. Nicholas Gennusa (35)
  9. Brandon Hoag (34)
  10. Cody Ford (33)

SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:

  1. Dylan Tremellen (2)
  2. Joel Hetrick (1)
  3. Thomas Brown (1)

DirtNation.com Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (2)

For more information on the 2019 ATV Motocross National Championship, visit the series official website at www.atvmotocross.com or call (304) 284-0101. Join the conversation on the series social media channels, along with receiving the most up-to-date news and exclusive content.


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.